InterNet Data Caps. Problems

Computers and Software: post here if you have an issue, or just want to discuss.
User avatar
PÕQ~Commander
PÕQ Admin
PÕQ Admin
Posts: 673
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 1:38 am
Location: Rustburg, Va, United States
Contact:

InterNet Data Caps. Problems

Unread postby PÕQ~Commander » Sun Dec 06, 2015 5:28 pm

So I live is rural Virginia and my Isp is Shentel. We get a 15 mbs download speed and a 400 gb data cap. They also charge 10$ every 50 over. So I am kind of mad right now because some how within the 2 weeks I some how got to 1000 gbs by watching youtube for 5 hours a day at 720p. and now we are 1444 gbs over after cutting youtube out.

So does any one have a clue where all that data is coming form?
{Admin},{Past MOH}

Varsity 220 Wrestler
Image

There is A Demon In me and I highly recommend that you don't let him out.

Image Image
Hidden:

User avatar
PÕQ~Technut
PÕQ Leader
PÕQ Leader
Posts: 19758
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 3:14 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: InterNet Data Caps. Problems

Unread postby PÕQ~Technut » Sun Dec 06, 2015 7:58 pm

You'll need to setup some monitoring to figure out what's using up your data. Which devices on your home network are connecting thru your ISP? Windows? Macs? Smartphones (Android or Apple)? You can probably find suitable software for each device to monitor what that device is doing to use up the data.

For example, for Windows you could use something like this:
https://www.glasswire.com/features/#Vis ... Monitoring
Image
PÕQ~Technut | Mike
Clan Leader

The real problem is not
whether machines think
but whether men do.
- B.F.Skinner

Image
Image
Image
Hidden:

User avatar
PÕQ~Commander
PÕQ Admin
PÕQ Admin
Posts: 673
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 1:38 am
Location: Rustburg, Va, United States
Contact:

Re: InterNet Data Caps. Problems

Unread postby PÕQ~Commander » Sun Dec 06, 2015 8:38 pm

Thanks, for the advice. I already thought of that and just Installed a usage monitor on my computer to prove to my dad thats its not just me. The one I got is Networxs
{Admin},{Past MOH}

Varsity 220 Wrestler
Image

There is A Demon In me and I highly recommend that you don't let him out.

Image Image
Hidden:

User avatar
PÕQ~David
PÕQ Leader
PÕQ Leader
Posts: 2196
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 4:02 pm
Location: Rivendell
Contact:

Re: InterNet Data Caps. Problems

Unread postby PÕQ~David » Mon Dec 07, 2015 4:54 am

Wow well i was going to say about NetLimiter but this GlassWire is really nice
ImageImage
ImageImage
“If debugging is the process of removing bugs, then programming must be the process of putting them in.” -Edsger W. Dijkstra

My PÕQ Achievements
Hidden:

User avatar
PÕQ~David
PÕQ Leader
PÕQ Leader
Posts: 2196
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 4:02 pm
Location: Rivendell
Contact:

Re: InterNet Data Caps. Problems

Unread postby PÕQ~David » Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:30 am

I Think if GlassWire adds connection shaping then i will remove netlimiter lol
ImageImage
ImageImage
“If debugging is the process of removing bugs, then programming must be the process of putting them in.” -Edsger W. Dijkstra

My PÕQ Achievements
Hidden:

User avatar
PÕQ~Commander
PÕQ Admin
PÕQ Admin
Posts: 673
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 1:38 am
Location: Rustburg, Va, United States
Contact:

Re: InterNet Data Caps. Problems

Unread postby PÕQ~Commander » Fri Dec 18, 2015 10:06 am

Is there any I could use for my router?
{Admin},{Past MOH}

Varsity 220 Wrestler
Image

There is A Demon In me and I highly recommend that you don't let him out.

Image Image
Hidden:


Return to “Computers & Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests