ATTENTION ALL Mac Users, Xfire classic Available for OSX

Computers and Software: post here if you have an issue, or just want to discuss.
PÕQ~Silence
PÕQ Admin
PÕQ Admin
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:16 am
Location: I Could be Behind you...
Contact:

ATTENTION ALL Mac Users, Xfire classic Available for OSX

Unread postby PÕQ~Silence » Thu Aug 01, 2013 12:54 am

Edit by Technut (Nov 13, 2014): New Version!
http://forum.poqclan.com/viewtopic.php?p=219748#p219748


I got sick of all the 3rd party clients and decided to put my technical and multi OS knowledge to use to solve that little issue PROPERLY....

Simply put i took the latest (March 2013) Release of Xfire classic, and Used Winebottler to Package it as a Completly Standalone OSX APP Including all the Prerequisites and binaries that it might need + a few just to make sure... Because it includes everything needed, it does have a decent size tag to it of about ~450MB Compressed and about ~900MB Uncompressed however you wont find a better solution anywhere else.

All you need is the .app NOTHING ELSE and you have the *OFFICIAL* Xfire classic Client on your Mac without anything else attached.... Its pure and it Just works!

UPDATE: SOUND WORKS for Speakers and MIC, Voice calls should work fine. Also Because IE is REQUIRED by Xfire, IE8 is Included and links clicked from the Xfire APP open IE and do work. (xfire site is slow however, but anything else is fine). Also to copy and paste, In OSX use OSX shortcuts, in the Xfire APP Use the WINDOWS EQUIVILENT!

Here is the link of the latest version (updated Nov 13, 2014). It's stored on my MS Onedrive. Packed in a DMG image reducing download size to about 300MB which is about half the app size extracted (~650MB).

--> Download Xfire Classic Packed for OSX <--
Current Size: 300 MB Compressed, 650 MB Extracted

Just download, and extract anywhere and run.
Sometimes to quit the app you need to force quit it from COMMAND + OPTION + ESC, il try and work on that one.....
if you have issues Please contact me on Skype: Leathality or Xfire: Killerguru

This is what it looks like on my very own Mac....

Image

Image

Image

Image

- PÕQ~Silence[Admin] | -KS-Silence[Owner][AU]
| PÕQ~Silence | PÕQ Clan Administrator | Member Since 22.03.2011 |

ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

------------------------
| Stealth Is Critical |
------------------------
Co-Founder of {4thID} Arma 3 Clan
PÕQ~Silence[Admin] | SÍLÈNÇË[AU][Leader]{4thID}
--> Visit the {4thID} Forums <--

Spec
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 1:50 am
Location: Mornington Peninsula, Victoria, Australia

Re: ATTENTION ALL Mac Users, Xfire classic Available for OSX

Unread postby Spec » Thu Aug 01, 2013 3:54 am

That's brilliant, could come in handy in the near future. :coolio:

PÕQ~Silence
PÕQ Admin
PÕQ Admin
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:16 am
Location: I Could be Behind you...
Contact:

Re: ATTENTION ALL Mac Users, Xfire classic Available for OSX

Unread postby PÕQ~Silence » Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 am

:P Thanks,

im working on a way to do Halo while staying within POQ's Morals...

The issue isnt compatibility to much, but more the fact that how do i create a copy for someone that they can use online when i require their key to do the install and hence make the app in the first place when one of our Morals is to never share keys.... see the problem.... I am working on a possible work around though, however it involves them having ATLEAST one windows machine they can install halo on and their ability to CAREFULLY follow Instructions to the letter when using regedit to transfer their encrypted key from their pc to the OSX Build after i install the game using my key then removing my key after the install is done...

Its Possible, but not easy and not simple to do it for the Halo game....

Most other games and apps wont have that issue, Crysis for example its very easy to change a key in the regsitry after install because its stored plaintext, but MS Stores their "Product ID" and other things in an encrypted state meaning its a P.I.T.A


PS. i see your in VIC.... well im in the Bluemountains NSW :P
| PÕQ~Silence | PÕQ Clan Administrator | Member Since 22.03.2011 |

ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

------------------------
| Stealth Is Critical |
------------------------
Co-Founder of {4thID} Arma 3 Clan
PÕQ~Silence[Admin] | SÍLÈNÇË[AU][Leader]{4thID}
--> Visit the {4thID} Forums <--

User avatar
PÕQ~Commander
PÕQ Admin
PÕQ Admin
Posts: 673
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 1:38 am
Location: Rustburg, Va, United States
Contact:

Re: ATTENTION ALL Mac Users, Xfire classic Available for OSX

Unread postby PÕQ~Commander » Thu Aug 01, 2013 5:03 am

hum nice bout I use bootcamp most of the time and vms fusion bout it will do good for the games on mac :money:
{Admin},{Past MOH}

Varsity 220 Wrestler
Image

There is A Demon In me and I highly recommend that you don't let him out.

Image Image
Hidden:

PÕQ~Silence
PÕQ Admin
PÕQ Admin
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:16 am
Location: I Could be Behind you...
Contact:

Re: ATTENTION ALL Mac Users, Xfire classic Available for OSX

Unread postby PÕQ~Silence » Thu Aug 01, 2013 5:11 am

i use Fusion to for a lot of things and most of the time i make sure i plug into AC when using it, it has the downside of drastically halving your battery life on the go and making the machine rather hot if your running any windows other than XP, mainly because the GPU works harder than it should be (windows aero would be half to blame for that), why bother even having to start fusion when all you need to do is run the .app i built :P

My Machine is a mid 2012 15" Retina Macbook Pro: 16GB ram, 2.6Ghz i7 Quad, 512GB SSD. Its a decent machine for most things. Dualbooted with OSX and Ubuntu in Native EFI with no 3rd Party bootloaders or Bootmenus, i did have Native windows but didnt use it enough to warrant keeping it that way. i use Fusion or my rig for windows stuff now.

i plan to "bottle" quite a few of my windows apps into .app packages to avoid VMs when possible.

As for bootcamp..... YUK! Pure EFI booting is the way to go albeit slightly more complicated than Bootcamp to set up. Mainly EFI WIndows installs boot up atleast 2x as fast as those using the Bootcamp bios emulation feature.... goes for Linux as well.
| PÕQ~Silence | PÕQ Clan Administrator | Member Since 22.03.2011 |

ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

------------------------
| Stealth Is Critical |
------------------------
Co-Founder of {4thID} Arma 3 Clan
PÕQ~Silence[Admin] | SÍLÈNÇË[AU][Leader]{4thID}
--> Visit the {4thID} Forums <--

User avatar
PÕQ~Commander
PÕQ Admin
PÕQ Admin
Posts: 673
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 1:38 am
Location: Rustburg, Va, United States
Contact:

Re: ATTENTION ALL Mac Users, Xfire classic Available for OSX

Unread postby PÕQ~Commander » Thu Aug 01, 2013 5:20 am

NOTHER PROP IS USEING IT with the same proudict code it baseicaly make you pc to go hey wire that's why I don't use it any more :crazy

and my pc is mid 2011 mac mini seaver with mouting lion with boot camp windows 7

my lap top is some were around 2007 to 2008 MacBook with boot camp and it is full on windows 1 gb free out of 49. :aww:
{Admin},{Past MOH}

Varsity 220 Wrestler
Image

There is A Demon In me and I highly recommend that you don't let him out.

Image Image
Hidden:

PÕQ~Silence
PÕQ Admin
PÕQ Admin
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:16 am
Location: I Could be Behind you...
Contact:

Re: ATTENTION ALL Mac Users, Xfire classic Available for OSX

Unread postby PÕQ~Silence » Thu Aug 01, 2013 5:24 am

kfdmagic wrote:NOTHER PROP IS USEING IT with the same proudict code it baseicaly make you pc to go hey wire that's why I don't use it any more :crazy


Sorry but i dont really understand your point there ^ :help

bad english doesnt help.... just wait till Cliffdog sees that lack off English effort... :rules2 :slap: :whip: :boom

No offense intended, but still..... :nana: :rofll:
| PÕQ~Silence | PÕQ Clan Administrator | Member Since 22.03.2011 |

ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

------------------------
| Stealth Is Critical |
------------------------
Co-Founder of {4thID} Arma 3 Clan
PÕQ~Silence[Admin] | SÍLÈNÇË[AU][Leader]{4thID}
--> Visit the {4thID} Forums <--

User avatar
PÕQ~Commander
PÕQ Admin
PÕQ Admin
Posts: 673
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 1:38 am
Location: Rustburg, Va, United States
Contact:

Re: ATTENTION ALL Mac Users, Xfire classic Available for OSX

Unread postby PÕQ~Commander » Thu Aug 01, 2013 5:29 am

PÕQ~Silence wrote:
kfdmagic wrote:NOTHER PROP IS USEING IT with the same proudict code it baseicaly make you pc to go hey wire that's why I don't use it any more :crazy


Sorry but i dont really understand your point there ^ :help

bad english doesnt help.... just wait till Cliffdog sees that lack off English effort... :boom

No offense intended, but still..... :nana:

If you use boot camp with fusion it will get the codes mixed up and for boot camp it will say you need a new product code for it then its a tricky problem to get it back
{Admin},{Past MOH}

Varsity 220 Wrestler
Image

There is A Demon In me and I highly recommend that you don't let him out.

Image Image
Hidden:

PÕQ~Silence
PÕQ Admin
PÕQ Admin
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:16 am
Location: I Could be Behind you...
Contact:

Re: ATTENTION ALL Mac Users, Xfire classic Available for OSX

Unread postby PÕQ~Silence » Thu Aug 01, 2013 5:33 am

No.....

Whats happening is that Windows thinks your hardware is majorly different when you switch between Booting Windows directly and running it under fusion and therefore deactivates.... same will happen with a regular PC if you make a major hardware change such as a New MOBO

You should only need to re-activate it and that be it. You Should NOT need a new key, however you might need to ring MS and ask them to reset your "Activation Count". i had to do it for Halo 2 when i reinstalled it a few times due to a computer being wacky... few minutes later problem solved....

Just tell them that VMWare is causing your windows to de-activate on the SAME PHYSICAL MACHINE.
| PÕQ~Silence | PÕQ Clan Administrator | Member Since 22.03.2011 |

ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

------------------------
| Stealth Is Critical |
------------------------
Co-Founder of {4thID} Arma 3 Clan
PÕQ~Silence[Admin] | SÍLÈNÇË[AU][Leader]{4thID}
--> Visit the {4thID} Forums <--

PÕQ~Silence
PÕQ Admin
PÕQ Admin
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:16 am
Location: I Could be Behind you...
Contact:

Re: ATTENTION ALL Mac Users, Xfire classic Available for OSX

Unread postby PÕQ~Silence » Fri Aug 02, 2013 6:47 am

Bump. First Post Updated with Information.....
| PÕQ~Silence | PÕQ Clan Administrator | Member Since 22.03.2011 |

ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

------------------------
| Stealth Is Critical |
------------------------
Co-Founder of {4thID} Arma 3 Clan
PÕQ~Silence[Admin] | SÍLÈNÇË[AU][Leader]{4thID}
--> Visit the {4thID} Forums <--


Return to “Computers & Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron